President of the Council of the North

Office Holder


Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham 1530-1533
Henry Percy, Earl of Northumberland 1533-1536
Thomas Howard, Duke of Norfolk 1536-1537
Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of Durham 1537-1538
Robert Holgate, Bishop of Llandaff 1538-1540
Francis Talbot, Earl of Shrewsbury 1550-1560
Henry Manners, Earl of Rutland 1561-1563
Ambrose Dudley, Earl of Warwick 1564-1564
Thomas Young, Archbishop of York 1564-1568
Thomas Radcliffe, Earl of Sussex 1568-1572
Henry Hastings, Earl of Huntingdon 1572-1595
Matthew Hutton, Bishop of Durham and Archbishop of York 1596-1599
Thomas Cecil, Lord Burghley 1599-1603
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page