Lord Steward of the Household

Lord Steward or Lord Steward of the Household, in England, an important official of the monarchs household. He is always a member of the government, a peer and a Privy Councillor. Up to 1782, the office was one of considerable political importance and carried cabinet rank. The Lord Steward receives his appointment from the Sovereign in person, and bears a white staff as the emblem and warrant of his authority. He is the first dignitary of the court. In an act of Henry VIII. (1539) for placing of the lords, he is described as the grand master or lord steward of the kings most honourable household. He presides at the Board of Green Cloth. In his department are the Treasurer and Comptroller of the household, who rank next to him. These officials are usually peers or the sons of peers and Privy Councillors. They sit at the Board of Green Cloth, carry white staves, and belong to the ministry. But the duties which in theory belong to the Lord Steward, Treasurer and Comptroller of the Household are in practice performed by the Master of the Household, who is a permanent officer and resides in the palace. He is a white-staff officer and a member of the Board of Green Cloth but not of the ministry, and among other things he presides at the daily dinners of the suite in waiting on the sovereign. He is not named in the Black Book of Edward IV or in the Statutes of King Henry VIII, and is entered as master of the household and clerk of the green cloth in the Household Book of Queen Elizabeth. But he has superseded the lord steward of the household, as the lord steward of the household at one time superseded the Lord High Steward of England.

In the Lord Stewards department are the officials of the Board of Green Cloth, the Coroner ("coroner of the verge"),and Paymaster of the Household, and the officers of the almonry. Other offices in the department were those of the cofferer of the household, the treasurer of the chamber, and the paymaster of pensions, but these, with six clerks of the Board of Green Cloth, were abolished in 1782. The Lord Steward had formerly three courts besides the Board of Green Cloth under him. First, the Lord Stewards Court, superseded in 1541 by - second - the Marshalsea Court, a court of record having jurisdiction, both civil and criminal within the verge (the area within 1 radius of 12 m. from where the sovereign is resident), and originally held for the purpose of administering justice between the domestic servants of the sovereign, "that they might not be drawn into other courts and their service lost." Its criminal jurisdiction had long fallen into disuse and its civil jurisdiction was abolished in 1849. Third, the Palace Court, created by letters patent in 1612 and renewed in 1665 with jurisdiction over all personal matters arising between parties within 12 miles of Whitehall (the jurisdiction of the Marshalsea court, the City of London, and Westminster Hall being excepted). It differed from the Marshalsea court in that it had no jurisdiction over the sovereigns household nor were its suitors necessarily of the household. The privilege of practising before the palace court was limited to four counsel. It was abolished in 1849. The Lord Steward or his deputies formerly administered the oaths to the members of the House of Commons. In certain cases (messages from the sovereign under the sign-manual) the lords with white staves are the proper persons to bear communications between the Sovereign and the Houses of Parliament.

The Lord Steward is distinct from the (now obsolete) Lord High Steward, one of the Great Officers of State.

Office Holder


Sir Gilbert Talbot 1502-1509
George Talbot, 4th Earl of Shrewsbury 1509-1538
Charles Brandon, 1st Duke of Suffolk 1541-1544
William Paulet, 1st Lord St John 1544-1551
John Dudley, Duke of Northumberland 1551-1553
Henry Fitzalan, 18th Earl of Arundel 1553-1568
William Herbert, 1st Earl of Pembroke 1568-1570
Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester 1570-1588
William Paulet, Lord St John of Basing 1588-1603
Charles Howard, 1st Earl of Nottingham 1603-1618
Ludovic Stuart, 1st Duke of Richmond 1618-1623
James Hamilton, 2nd Marquess of Hamilton 1623-1625
William Herbert, 3rd Earl of Pembroke 1625-1630
none 1630-1640
Thomas Howard, 2nd Earl of Arundel and Surrey 1640-1644
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page