Lord Privy Seal

The Lord Privy Seal or Lord Keeper of the Privy Seal is one of the traditional sinecure offices in the British Cabinet. Originally, its holder was responsible for the monarch's personal ("privy") seal (as opposed to the Great Seal of state, which is in the care of the Lord Chancellor).

Office Holder


William Melton 1307-1312
Roger Northburgh 1312-1316
Thomas Charlton 1316-1320
Robert Baldock 1320-1323
Robert Wodehouse 1323
Robert Ayleston 1323-1324
William Airmyn 1324-1325
Henry Cliff 1325
William Herlaston 1325-1326
Robert Wyvell 1326-1327
Richard Airmyn 1327-1328
Adam Lymbergh 1328-1329
Richard Bury, Bishop of Durham 1329-1334
Robert Ayleston 1334
Robert Tawton 1334-1335
William La Zouche 1335-1337
Richard Bintworth 1337-1338
William Kilsby 1338-1342
John Offord 1342-1344
Thomas Hatfield 1344-1345
John Thoresby 1345-1347
Simon Islip, Archbishop of Canterbury 1347-1350
Michael Northburgh 1350-1354
Thomas Bramber 1354-1355
John Winwick 1355-1360
John Buckingham, Bishop of Lincoln 1360-1363
William of Wykeham 1363-1367
Peter Lacy 1367-1371
Nicholas Carew 1371-1377
John Fordham 1377-1381
William Dighton 1381-1382
Walter Skirclaw, Bishop of Coventry and Lichfield 1382-1386
John Waltham, Bishop of Salisbury 1386-1389
Edmund Stafford, Bishop of Exeter 1389-1396
Guy Mone 1396-1397
Richard Clifford 1397-1401
Thomas Langley 1401-1405
Nicholas Bubwith 1405-1406
John Prophet 1406-1415
John Wakering, Bishop of Norwich 1415-1416
Henry Ware 1416-1418
John Kempe, Bishop of Rochester 1418-1412
John Stafford, Bishop of Bath and Wells 1421-1422
William Alnwick, Bishop of Norwich 1422-1432
William Lyndwood, Bishop of St David's 1432-1443
Thomas Beckington, Bishop of Bath and Wells 1443-1444
Adam Moleyns, Bishop of Chichester 1444-1450
Andrew Holes 1450-1452
Thomas Lisieux 1452-1456
Laurence Booth, Bishop of Durham 1456-1460
Robert Stillington, Bishop of Bath and Wells 1460-1467
Thomas Rotheram, Bishop of Rochester 1467-1470
John Hales, Bishop of Coventry and Lichfield 1470-1471
Thomas Rotheram, Bishop of Rochester 1471-1474
John Russell, Bishop of Rochester and Lincoln 1473-1483
John Gunthorp 1483-1485
Peter Courtenay, Bishop of Exeter 1485-1487
Richard Fox, Bishop of Exeter 1487-1516
Thomas Ruthall, Bishop of Durham 1516-1523
Henry Marney, 1st Lord Marney 1523
Cuthbert Tunstall, Bishop of London 1523-1530
Thomas Boleyn, 1st Earl of Wiltshire 1530-1536
Thomas Cromwell, 1st Earl of Essex 1536-1540
William Fitzwilliam, 1st Earl of Southampton 1540-1542
John Russell, 1st Earl of Bedford 1542-1555
William Paget, 1st Baron Paget 1555-1571
William Cecil, 1st Baron Burghley 1571-1572
William Howard, 1st Baron Howard of Effingham 1572-1573
Sir Thomas Smith 1573-1576
Francis Walsingham 1576-1590
William Cecil, 1st Baron Burghley 1590-1598
Robert Cecil, 1st Earl of Salisbury 1598-1608
Henry Howard, 1st Earl of Northampton 1608-1614
Robert Carr, 1st Earl of Somerset 1614-1616
Edward Somerset, 6th Earl of Worcester 1616-1625
Sir John Coke 1625-1628
Sir Robert Naunton 1628
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page