Lord High Constable

The Lord High Constable, in England, is the seventh of the Great Officers of State, ranking beneath the Lord Great Chamberlain and above the Earl Marshal. His office is now called out of abeyance for coronations alone (and theoretically for trials by combat). The constable was originally the commander of the royal armies and the Master of the Horse. He was also, in conjunction with the Earl Marshal, president of the court of chivalry or court of honour. In feudal times martial law was administered in the court of the lord high constable. The constableship was granted as a grand serjeanty with the earldom of Hereford by the empress Maud to Milo of Gloucester, and was carried by his heiress to the Bohuns, earls of Hereford and Essex. Through a coheiress of the Bohuns it descended to the Staffords, dukes of Buckingham; and on the attainder of Edward Stafford, third duke of Buckingharn, in the reign of King Henry VIII. it became merged in the crown. The Lacys and Verduns were hereditary constables of Ireland from the 12th to the 14th century; and the Hays, earls of Erroll, have been hereditary constables of Scotland from early in. the 14th century.

Office Holder


Milo de Gloucester, 1st Earl of Hereford 1139-1143
Roger de Gloucester, 2nd Earl of Hereford 1143-1155
Walter de Gloucester, 3rd Earl of Hereford 1155-1159
Henry de Gloucester 1159-1164
Humphrey de Bohun 1164-1176
Henry de Bohun, 1st Earl of Hereford 1176-1220
Humphrey de Bohun, 2nd Earl of Hereford and Essex 1220-1275
Humphrey de Bohun, 3rd Earl of Hereford and Essex 1275-1298
Humphrey de Bohun, 4th Earl of Hereford and Essex 1298-1321
John de Bohun, 5th Earl of Hereford and Essex 1321-1335
Humphrey de Bohun, 6th Earl of Hereford and Essex 1335-1361
Humphrey de Bohun, 7th Earl of Hereford and Essex 1361-1372
Thomas of Woodstock, Duke of Gloucester 1372-1397
Humphrey, 2nd Duke of Gloucester 1397-1399
Edmund Stafford, 5th Earl of Stafford 1399-1403
Humphrey Stafford, 1st Duke of Buckingham 1403-1460
Henry Stafford, 2nd Duke of Buckingham 1460-1483
Thomas Stanley, 2nd Lord Stanley 1483-1485
Edward Stafford, 3rd Duke of Buckingham 1485-1521
at this point, the office merged in the crown, and was only revived for coronations. It was held at coronations by the following individuals:
Henry Grey, 3rd Marquess of Dorset 1547
Henry Fitzalan, 18th Earl of Arundel 1553
Henry Fitzalan, 18th Earl of Arundel 1559
Edward Somerset, 4th Earl of Worcester 1603
George Villiers, 1st Duke of Buckingham 1626
Algernon Percy, 10th Earl of Northumberland 1661
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page