Bishops of Carlisle

(From 1200 to 1626)

It has already been stated that the bishopric of Carlisle was founded by Henry I.




Year of
Bernard Archbishop of Sclavonia 1200
Bernard Archbishop of Ragusa 1203
Hugh abbot of Beaulieu 1216
Walter Malcerk lord treasurer and sheriff of Cumberland. He resigned the bishopric in 1246. 1223
Silvester De Everdon lord high chancellor. 1223
Thomas Vipont Died the month after acceded. 1255
See vacant the Bishop of Durham obtained all its revenues and privileges  
Robert Chauncy archdeacon of Bath and sheriff of Cumberland 1258
Ralph Irton abbot of Gisburne 1280
John Halton canon regular of Carlisle 1291
John De Ros   1325
John Kirby canon of Carlisle 1332
Gilbert De Welton   1352
Thomas Appleby canon of Carlisle 1362
Robert Reed Bishop of Lismore, translated to Chichester 1396
Thomas Merks monk of Westminster, he was the only partizan of the house of Plantagenet, who dared to speak in favour of the deposed monarch, Richard II, whose cause he boldly advocated in a speech in parliament. For this manly vindication he was deprived of his bishopric, and committed for high treason, to the tower, where he remained for same time, but was afterwards, by the pope's licence, allowed to hold benefices to the yearly value of three hundred marks. He died rector of Toddenham, in Gloucestershire, in 1409. 1396
William Strickland   1400
Roger Whelpdale   1420
William Barrow translated from Bangor 1423
Marmaduke Lumley   1430
Nicholas Close translated to Lichfield in 1452 1449
William Percy   1452
John Kingscott   1462
Richard Scrope   1463
Edward Story translated to Chichester, where he died in 1502 1468
Richard Bell prior of Finchale 1477
William (Sever) Senhouse engaged in the treaty of marriage proposed between James, king of Scotland, and Margaret, daughter of Henry VII. This prelate was the son of a sieve maker, and was translated to Durham in 1502 1496
Roger Leyburn descendant of an ancient family in Westmorland, who had been master of Pembroke Hall, and archdeacon and chancellor of Durham. Died 1508 1502
John Penny abbot of Leicester, translated from Bangor 1508
John Kyte



Robert Aldridge

Owen Oglethorpe   1556
John Best   1559
Richard Barnes   1570
John Meye Master of Catherine Hall, Cambridge, who held the see for twenty years 1559-77. Vice-Chancellor. Rector of Ashton Sandford, Bucks., of Long Stanton St Michael, Cambs., of North Creek, Norf., of St Dunstan-in-the-East, London, Prebendary of Ely, Archdeacon of the East Riding.  Brother of William May.Fell a victim to a dreadful plague, which raged in Cumberland, in 1597. 1577
Henry Robinson   1598
Robert Snowden   1616
Richard Milbourne translated from St. David's 1621
Richard Senhouse died by a fall from his horse, in 1626 1624

The deans of Carlisle appointed by Queen Elizabeth were Sir Thomas Smith, whom she appointed at her accession, or rather re-appointed, for he had held the deanery during the reign of Edward VI, after the ejection of Lancelot Salkeld, who was re-appointed by Queen Mary on the ejection of Smith. Sir Thomas Smith was a deacon only; to him succeeded in 1577 Sir John Wooley, and in 1596 Sir Christopher Perkins, who held it until 1622; these two were both laymen. There is no evidence that these deans, very distinguished men they were, and holders of high office at the universities, in state and in diplomacy, ever saw the deanery they enjoyed. The deanery of Carlisle was, in fact, secularised throughout the reign of Queen Elizabeth, and for part of that of James I. Accounts of these deans are in Archæologia, vol. xxxviii., where it appears Smith got £80 from his deanery, after paying Salkeld £40 as pension.

to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page