Lord Chamberlain of the Household

The Lord Chamberlain or Lord Chamberlain is one of the chief officers of the royal household in the United Kingdom, and is to be distinguished from the Lord Great Chamberlain, one of the Great Officers of State.

The Lord Chamberlain is always a peer and a privy councillor, and before 1782 was of cabinet rank. Until 1924 the position was a political one. The Lord Chamberlain is the chief functionary of the court, and is generally responsible for organizing all court functions. Until recently, the Lord Chamberlain also had the role of licenser of plays in the City of London, Westminster, and certain other areas.

Office Holder


Sir William Stanley 1485-1508
Charles Somerset, 1st Earl of Worcester 1508-1526
William Fitzalan, 17th Earl of Arundel 1526-1530
William Sandys, 1st Lord Sandys 1530-1535
William Paulet, 1st Lord St John of Basing 1535-1550
Thomas Wentworth, 1st Lord Wentworth 1550-1551
Thomas Darcy, 1st Lord Darcy 1551-1553
John Williams, 1st Lord Williams 1553-1557
William Howard, 1st Lord Howard of Effingham 1557-1572
Thomas Radcliffe, 3rd Earl of Sussex 1572-1585
Henry Carey, 1st Lord Hunsdon 1585-1596
William Brooke, 5th Lord Cobham  8 Aug 1596 - 5 Mar 1597
George Carey, 2nd Lord Hunsdon 1597-1603
Thomas Howard, 1st Earl of Suffolk 1603-1613
Robert Carr, 1st Earl of Somerset 1613-1615
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page