Chancellor of the Exchequer

The Chancellor of the Exchequer is the ancient title held by the British cabinet minister whose responsibilities are akin to the posts of Minister for Finance or Secretary of the Treasury in other jurisdictions. The third oldest major state office in English and United Kingdom history, the Chancellor of the Exchequer, (often simply called The Chancellor) is the cabinet minister responsible for all financial matters. Historically the Exchequer included monetary policy as well as fiscal policy, but this ended when the Bank of England was granted independence from government in 1997.

The holder of the office of Chancellor is ex-officio Second Lord of the Treasury. The Chancellor is also obliged to be a member of the Privy Council, and thus is styled the Right Honourable (Rt. Hon.)

Office Holder


Sir Walter Mildmay 1559-1589
John Fortescue 1589-1603
George Home, 1st Earl of Dunbar 1603-1606
Sir Julius Caesar 1606-1614
Sir Fulke Greville 1614-1621
Sir Richard Weston 1621-1628
Edward Barrett, 1st Lord Barrett of Newburgh 1628-1629
Francis Cottington, 1st Baron Cottington 1629-1642
Sir John Culpepper 1642-1643
Sir Edward Hyde 1643-1646
Anthony Ashley Cooper, 1st Lord Ashley 1661-1672
to Titles Page to Life Page to Home Page